2021 Awards

The #SFRA21 banquet has just concluded and we wanted to push out recognition of this year’s award winners.

Congratulations to all winners!

Support a New Scholar

Guangzhao Lyu

Speculative Fictions and Cultures of Science Book Award

Melody Jue for Wild Blue Media

Mary Kay Bray Award

The Mary Kay Bray Award is given for the best essay, interview, or extended review to appear in the SFRA Review in a given year.

Co-winners: Virginia L. Conn and Andy Duncan

Thomas D. Clareson Award

The Thomas D. Clareson Award for Distinguished Service is presented for outstanding service activities-promotion of SF teaching and study, editing, reviewing, editorial writing, publishing, organizing meetings, mentoring, and leadership in SF/fantasy organizations.

This year’s awardee is Grace Dillon.

SFRA Innovative Research Award

The SFRA Innovative Research Award (formerly the Pioneer Award) is given to the writer or writers of the best critical essay-length work of the year.

This year’s awardee is Jesse Cohn, with an honorable mention to Adriana Knouf.

SFRA Book Award

The SFRA Book Award is given to the author of the best first scholarly monograph in SF, in each calendar year.

This year’s winner, Upamanyu Pablo Mukerjee for Final Frontiers: Science Fiction and Technoscience in Non-Aligned India.

SFRA Award for Lifetime Contributions to SF Scholarship

Originally the Pilgrim Award, the SFRA Award for Lifetime Contributions to SF Scholarship was created in 1970 by the SFRA to honor lifetime contributions to SF and fantasy scholarship. The award was first named for J. O. Bailey’s pioneering book, Pilgrims through Space and Time, and altered in 2019.

This year’s awardee is Veronica Hollinger.

Join fellow scholars, educators, librarians, editors, authors, publishers, archivists, and artists from across the globe in the SFRA.