The SFRA Award for
Lifetime Contributions to SF Scholarship

This award was created in 1970 by the SFRA to honor lifetime contributions to SF and fantasy scholarship. The award was originally named the Pilgrim Award for J. O. Bailey’s pioneering book, Pilgrims through Space and Time.

The name was amended following a series of discussions and a community vote to The SFRA Award for Lifetime Contributions to SF Scholarship in 2019.

[*The SFRA award season begins in June of the year of record; awards are bestowed during the annual conference the following year.]

Award Committee

Isiah Lavender (chair)

Veronica Hollinger

Andy Hageman

2022: Roger Luckhurst (UK)
2021: Veronica Hollinger (Canada)
2020: Sherryl Vint (Canada)
2019: John Rieder (USA)
2018: Carl Freedman (USA)
2017: Tom Moylan (Ireland)
2016: Mark Bould (UK)
2015: Henry Jenkins (USA)
2014: Joan Gordon (USA)
2013: N. Katherine Hayles (USA)
2012: Pamela Sargent (USA)
2011: Donna Haraway (USA)
2010: Eric Rabkin (USA)
2009: Brian Attebery (USA)
2008: Gwyneth Jones (UK)
2007: Algis Budrys (USA)
2006: Fredric Jameson (USA)
2005: Gérard Klein (France)
2004: Edward James (UK)
2003: Gary Westfahl (USA)
2002: Mike Ashley (UK)
2001: Dave Samuelson (USA)
2000: Hal Hall (USA)
1999: Brian Stableford (UK)
1998: L. Sprague de Camp (USA)
1997: Marleen Barr (USA)
1996: David Ketterer (Canada)
1995: Vivian Sobchack (USA)
1994: John Clute (UK)
1993: Robert Reginald (USA)
1992: Mark Hillegas (USA)
1991: Pierre Versins (France)
1990: Marshall B. Tymn (USA)
1989: Ursula K. Le Guin (USA)
1988: Joanna Russ (USA)
1987: Gary K. Wolfe (USA)
1986: George E. Slusser (USA)
1985: Samuel R. Delany (USA)
1984: Everett F. Bleiler (USA)
1983: H. Bruce Franklin (USA)
1982: Neil Barron (USA)
1981: Sam Moskowitz (USA)
1980: Peter Nichols (UK)
1979: Darko Suvin (Canada)
1978: Brian W. Aldiss (UK)
1977: Thomas D. Clareson (USA)
1976: James Gunn (USA)
1975: Damon Knight (USA)
1974: I. F. Clarke (UK)
1973: Jack Williamson (USA)
1972: Julius Kagarlitski (USSR)
1971: Marjorie Hope Nicolson (USA)
1970: J. O. Bailey (USA)

Join fellow scholars, educators, librarians, editors, authors, publishers, archivists, and artists from across the globe in the SFRA.