SFRA Student Paper Award Submissions is Accepting Nominations

We are pleased to announce the acceptance of Student Paper Award Submissions for 2023-24.  If you or a student of yours presented at the conference in Dresden and would like to be considered for this award, please see below for instructions. 

In order to be eligible, all you have to do is send in the paper that you presented as you presented it (no revised or extended versions, other than light editing to correct typos). Please attach all presentations (preferably in Microsoft Word or PDF format; including presentation files from PowerPoint or Prezi is fine) to an email with the subject line “SFRA Student Paper Award Submission” and send them to  

In order to keep items together and ensure we match your presentation with your paper, please name the files as such “Last Name.First Initial.Paper or Presentation” (example: Greer.K.Paper and Greer.K.Presentation). Submissions are due by October 31, 2023.The Committee looks forward to receiving your submissions and reading your work.  

Kania Greer
Chair – Student Paper Awards Committee

SFRA elections 2023: at-large representatives

We are now seeking to populate the two “at large” positions in the SFRA Executive Committee after this year’s successful pilot. We are especially looking to recruit candidates who are graduate students, non-Tenure Track, non-US, and/or from marginalized communities not historically represented on the executive board. Further information can be found here [Article V. Section 10]. The term for these positions is for three years (2024-2026).

If you are interested, please send your 300-500 word statements to Immediate Past President Gerry Canavan (, no later than October 1, for publication inSFRA Review.

Feel free to get in touch with Gerry Canavan if you have any questions. 

2023 Award Winners

The 2022 awards were announced at the banquet at the conclusion of the 2023 conference in Dresden, Germany. Congratulations to all winners!

Student Paper Award
The Student Paper Award is presented to an outstanding scholarly essay read at the annual conference of the SFRA by a student.

The winner of the 2021 award is Josie Holland (University of Richmond) for their paper “Constructing Radical Queer Futures and Deconstructing Noir Fiction in The Penumbra Podcast.”

Mary Kay Bray Award
The Mary Kay Bray Award is given for the best review to appear in the SFRA Review in a given year.

This year’s awardee is Dennis Wilson Wise for his “Review of Hidden Wyndham: Life, Love, Letters” (SFRA Review 52.1).

The selection committee also awarded an honorable mention to Jeremy Brett for his “Review of WandaVision” (SFRA Review 52.1).  

SFRA Book Award
The SFRA Book Award is given to the author of the best first scholarly monograph in SF, in each calendar year.

This year’s winner is Emily Midkiff for Equipping Space Cadets: Primary Science Fiction for Young Children.

The selection committee also awarded an honorable mention to Anne Stewart for Angry Planet: Decolonial Fiction and the American Third World.

Thomas D. Clareson Award
The Thomas D. Clareson Award for Distinguished Service is presented for outstanding service activities-promotion of SF teaching and study, editing, reviewing, editorial writing, publishing, organizing meetings, mentoring, and leadership in SF/fantasy organizations.

This year’s awardee is Shelley S. Streeby (Professor in the Departments of Ethnic Studies and Literature at the University of California, San Diego).

SFRA Innovative Research Award
The SFRA Innovative Research Award (formerly the Pioneer Award) is given to the writer or writers of the best critical essay-length work of the year.

This year’s awardee is Paweł Frelik for his essay “Power Games: Towards the Rhetoric of Energy in Speculative Video Games,” from Er(r)go. Teoria – Literatura – Kultura 44 (2022). The selection committee also awarded an honorable mention to Nora Castle for her essay “In Vitro Meat: Contemporary Narratives of Cultured Flesh,” from Extrapolation 63.2 (2022).

SFRA Award for Lifetime Contributions to SF Scholarship
Originally the Pilgrim Award, the SFRA Award for Lifetime Contributions to SF Scholarship was created in 1970 by the SFRA to honor lifetime contributions to SF and fantasy scholarship. The award was first named for J. O. Bailey’s pioneering book, Pilgrims through Space and Time and altered in 2019.

This year’s awardee is Steven Shaviro (DeRoy Professor of English Wayne State University Department of English).

call for nominations: SFRA Innovative Research Award

Science Fiction Research Association (SFRA)
Open Call for Nominations: 2022 SFRA Innovative Research Award
Deadline for nominations: February 6, 2023

The SFRA Innovative Research Award

The Science Fiction Research Association (SFRA) invites nominations for the 2022 Innovative Research Award. The award is announced annually at the SFRA conference and is awarded to the writer (or writers) of the year’s best critical essay-length work published in a peer-reviewed academic journal. Formerly known as the Pioneer Award, the SFRA Innovative Research Award was renamed in 2019 following lengthy discussions and a community vote. For a list of past winners:

Please note: Only peer-reviewed journal articles published in 2022 are eligible for submission. A maximum of two submissions is welcomed per person, and it is possible to self-nominate. Past winners will not be considered for this award, so please refer to the list of winners before submitting your nomination if you believe the author has won in the past. All nominations will remain anonymous.

For all inquiries or to submit a nomination, please send the author’s name, title of article and the journal and pages in which the article appeared to the committee chair Anna Kurowicka at Please also include the article as an attachment. The deadline for submissions in February 6, 2023.